17th Dubai Open Chess Tournament

Watch LIVE Dubai Chess Open with computer analysis:
Dubai Open 2015 | 2014

The 17th Dubai Open Chess Tournament will run from April 5-15 at the Dubai Chess and Culture Club. Ibrahim Al Bannai, Chairman of Dubai Chess and Culture Club and head of the organising committee, announced during a press conference held today (31 March 2015) at the club that players from at least 43 countries will be competing for the prestigious Sheikh Rashid Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum Cup.

The first round of the nine-round Swiss system tournament will be played on April 6 at 6pm. The final round will be played on April 14, with the awarding ceremony on April 15. The club is also organising a blitz chess event for all players on the tournament’s rest day on April 10.

Over 90 Masters confirmed their participation. Belarusian Grandmaster (GM) Sergei Zhigalko is so far the highest-rated player among the confirmed participants with a rating of 2681, while Ukrainian GM Yuri Kuzubov is the second seed with a rating of 2667.

The confirmed participants have so far reached 185 players, including 56 GMs, 20 international masters (IMs) and 14 woman grandmasters (WGMs), along with several highly rated players from Romania, Russia, France, Georgia, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Germany, the United States, England, Ukraine and Croatia.

India accounts for the biggest foreign delegation with 36 players, followed by Azerbaijan, Russia and Armenia.

Indian Women Grand Master Karavade Eesha is the highest rated among women participants with a rating of 2398. Around 20 top-rated women from countries such as Greece, Azerbaijan, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Jordan and Egypt, which is represented by WGM Mona Khaled, have already registered. The UAE contingent is led by Woman International Master Noman Ali Al, the Arab Under-20 champion, Women International Master Kholoud Al-Zarooni and Bashaer Khalil, a bronze medallist at the Arab Under-16 championship.


Monday 6th Apr Round 1 17:30
Tuesday 7th Apr Round 2 17:30
Wednesday 8th Apr Round 3 17:30
Thursday 9th Apr Round 4 17:30
Friday 10th Apr Rest Day / Blitz Cup 19.00
Saturday 11th Apr Round 5 ?? Round 6 17:30
Sunday 12th Apr Round 7 17:30
Monday 13th Apr Round 8 17:30
Tuesday 14th Apr Round 9 17:30

Official website